• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

coworker trying to kick me out of tip pool

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

C

cbergman

What is the name of your state? NY

I work in a restaurant where the tips are pooled. Today a fellow server announced she no longer wants to share her tips with me or participate in the pool when I am working because she says she doesnt think I work hard and I dont offer good service. Because she works later on in the day (i have the very early shifts) she always makes more money than I do and so her friend, another server, says we should kick me out of the pool and not her. he wants everyone to vote this week to decide what should happen - she wont participate in the pool with me, so one of us must leave and he wants me to leave because i pull in less money and he wants to make more. I think this is unfair - if she has a problem with me, surely she should leave the pool and not try to kick me out? i called my union rep and she didnt call back, and im wondering what to do? is this fair? it seems ridiculous.

cbg

I'm a Northern Girl
And what does your manager say? Does the restaurant management let this server and her friend make the rules?

Beth3

I agree it's ridiculous. So what does your manager say? This is a matter of company policy and does not appear to have anything to do with your union per se.

It's not up to an individual employee to decide that a "vote" should be taken to determine another's co-worker's compensation. Frankly, your two co-workers sound like they want to be the tail wagging the dog. I hope restaurant management or the owner doesn't let them get away with it.

C

cbergman

hands off approach