• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

crowdsourcing

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

film123

Hi I am a professor in a film school in california and I am thinking of setting up a website where my students can raise money for their short films from friends and others as a donation (where all the money goes to students only). They are presently using crowd sourcing websites like indiegogo or kickstarter but I see no reason in using them since they usually take a percentage of money. So are there any legal huddles for setting up such a website?

HomeGuru

Hi I am a professor in a film school in california and I am thinking of setting up a website where my students can raise money for their short films from friends and others as a donation (where all the money goes to students only). They are presently using crowd sourcing websites like indiegogo or kickstarter but I see no reason in using them since they usually take a percentage of money. So are there any legal huddles for setting up such a website?
**A: you need to be talking to the school administrators.

tranquility

So are there any legal huddles for setting up such a website?
Let me get this straight, you want to use the internet to garner money from one group to give to another for some reason and you wonder if there are legal hurdles?

You TEACH at a university?

At the very least you would have to register as a money service business. You may need to have different broker's licenses depending on if anything is given up for the money. (As in rights to the film or something.)

Go to Social Science Research Network (SSRN) Home Page and search for "crowdsourcing" or "crowdfunding" for more.

film123