• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Damaged TV

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

ff3508

What is the name of your state?CA

Hi I would appreciate if I can get some advice or help on this issue.

I bought a plasma TV from an online merchant called www.buzz4digital.com.

I paid $5500.00 for the brand new TV and it came with 3 year extended warranty and shipping insurance.

When the TV came to me it had a cracked screen but I only noticed it after the delivery guy left.

I called the merchant and told them about the damaged TV that was sent to me.

This is my first time buying a TV online. They told me that it was my fault that I should have checked the TV in front of the delivery guy before signing the proof of delivery form ( which I did sign). No one or anything notified me that I was to check the TV in front of the delivery guy. Because of this they said they aren't liable of the damages.

The proof of delivery form that I signed didn't say anything that I was suppose to check the TV in front of the delivery guy. Also the delivery guy didn't tell me to check the item also. The form only showed from where it was shipping from and to, date, and order number. Nothing else was stated.

The delivery company that damaged the TV won't reimburse me even though they damaged it. The shipping was insured, they said it was my fault even though they didn't tell me to check the TV or have anything written on the proof of delivery that states to check the TV in front of the delivery guy. Do you think its the delivery company I should be sueing?