• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Damages Query

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

What is the name of your state?District of Columbia... Struck in the knee by a car making a left in daylight and 100% visibility. GEICO is the insurer. I am an IT professional and get jobs by the day from IT support websites. My per diem is $675. Was see by a neighbor... a retired physician who suggested three days rest My question is: What could one claim for pain and suffering. How could GEICO counter my claim? What have'nt I considered. Guidance sought.

adjusterjack

What could one claim for pain and suffering.
You can "claim" anywhere between a dollar and a gazillion dollars. What you'll be offered, if you are offered anything at all, is a few hundred in go-away money.

Your neighbor's diagnosis and treatment suggestion isn't worth a nickel. If you can't understand why, I don't know what to tell you.

As for loss of income, well, I suspect you can still do your IT work while resting your knee. So you'll have a hard time justifying any loss of income.

How could GEICO counter my claim?
One way would be to counter that you were negligent in walking out in front of a moving vehicle, maybe going against the light, whatever.

Another way is to just dispute the amount of damages you claim. Were I the GEICO adjuster I'd offer you a couple of hundred for a signed release and send you on your way. You haven't won the personal injury lottery.

Guidance sought.