• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Default Judgemant against NJ resident in NE - bogus contract

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

BOM

I am a resident of New Jersey and was sued in small claims court in Nebraska. I could not attend and I wrote a letter to the court and left a message with the judge informing him of this but never heard back.

The case is about a defective laptop that I bought from a company online that is located in Nebraska. I was unhappy with it and returned it via UPS. While in the custody of UPS, the laptop was stolen. UPS took responsibility and paid out $100. I could not collect the full amount because UPS stated I did not declare the value, which I had and apparently did not go through due to an error with the website.

Long story short, even though the computer company was aware that UPS conducted an investigation and took responsibility, they sued me because they stated that I was instructed in an email to insure the package. They claim this is a legal contract even though I never agreed to insure the package, attempted to insure it anyway out of common sense and was not in the custody of the laptop when it was stolen.