• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Demotion after returning from FMLA

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Molly333

I was on FMLA for surgery for 12 weeks, including the last 7 weeks of the year. One hour after I return, my boss pulls me into his office and tells me he is demoting me. He states the reason is because I did not hit my team goal for the group that I manage. I did exceed my individual producer goal. He states that he is replacing me with one of my previous male direct reports who I have trained and developed from day one. He has two years experience. I have 15 years experience (5 of which in the manager role). I ask what he will bring to the table that he feels that I did not and he says because he has been a new account manager more recently than I have, he will be more relevant and relatable to the other new account managers and will bring a better energy to the group. I have had an impeccable record of success my entire career with this company, almost always ranking in top 25 performers nationally. There were no performance conversations had prior to my leave. In fact I recieved a glowing review 2.5 months before I left. During that review we had a discussion about whether I still liked my job and if I wanted to stay in it and I said yes and then asked his reason for asking, specifically asked him if he wants to take me out of the role and he assured me that wasnt the case. We dont see eye to eye on many issues and I give him feedback when I dont agree with decisions he makes which he doesnt like. He has told me that he doesnt like working with me because I challenge him and give him feedback and he says conversations are difficult sometimes so he avoid