• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Disability and writing books

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Status
Not open for further replies.

grendal

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Rhode Island.

I'm not sure what one this would fall under, tax or SSI. I've been on disability my entire life from the age of 4 for none physical issues. My girlfriend has convinced me to write cook books. I found out the IRS gets reports of my royalty payments. In the past I worked as a stock boy part time as minimum wage and ended up stripped of my benefits with the exception of a whopping 20 bucks. I was only making 100 bucks a week, 400 a month from my job. I'm currently living in a house that I am barely able to pay for. In fact I've been living off of frozen year old hot dogs and ramen noodles for the past few weeks cause my electric bill went up for the summer.

My concern is if I write these books and finish publishing them, I will end up living on the street cause my benefits were stripped from me. Is there a way I can publish these books, collect the royalties without risking loosing everything? I doubt the books will sell at all, but if they take off and I end up making less then what I am getting now a month I will end up in the street. So any advice on how to do this without loosing everything?

Please no find a job comments...tired of them, and according to the state I am not fit to have a job.

sandyclaus

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Rhode Island.