• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Do we have a contract?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Hello, I am a web developer from Massachusetts

I performed some web development services for a family friend's company. There was no agreed rate at the beginning of the work, only an understanding I would perform services per hour and the company would compensate me financially for it. When talks on price began, several offers and counter-offers were made, ultimately leading us to the company making an offer of $25 an hour, and I accepted. This is all in emails that I can prove are from the company. They are now refusing to pay the debt.

The company explicitly stated in the emails: "[Company Name] is prepared to pay for services rendered at the rate of $25/hr"
To which I replied in an email: "Please send payment for your offer of 50.5 hours at $25 an hour net $1262.50 to cover services rendered thus far"

Does this offer, and acceptance, constitute a contract?
Can I bring this to small claims court?

Any information required to determine either question above I can provide if needed.

Thank you all for your anticipated help!

The rate was agreed to after the work was done, but not before they knew how many hours I had worked.

Edit: the above was confusing, They knew how many hours I had worked before agreeing to a rate.

PayrollHRGuy

That is not what it says here.

The company explicitly stated in the emails: "[Company Name] is prepared to pay for services rendered at the rate of $25/hr"
To which I replied in an email: "Please send payment for your offer of 50.5 hours at $25 an hour net $1262.50 to cover services rendered thus far"