• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Documentation a creditor needs to take action

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

superjtrdr

What is the name of your state? Texas
I am a contractor that closing my business without filing a bankruptcy, Last year was rough and I want out. I have settled various debts without damaging my credit but there is one left for $9,000. What I want to know is what kind of leverage I might have negotiating for a more favorable settlement. I signed a credit app several years back and have had various contractors who are not directly part of my business pick up materials from this vendor over time for projects. These contractors never signed and I never agreed verbally to these invoices. The total over several years is roughly $54,000. I want to negotiate for a fraction of the $9,000. If I never signed or verbally agreed to any specific transaction does that give me leverage? What kind of documentation would this vendor need to damage my credit? I am going to shoot for a 50% settlement with these people.

Zigner

Senior Member, Non-Attorney
There is no way that we can guess whether a creditor will negotiate with you or what terms you may be able to negotiate if you do. Based on what you've said here, you owe the money. Others on this forum may give you some pointers, but I, for one, am not going to help you in your quest to find some sort of loophole to screw over vendors who dealt in good faith with you.

Negotiate with them, but don't do so from a position of trying to screw them.

adjusterjack

If I never signed or verbally agreed to any specific transaction does that give me leverage?
No.