• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Documents for US naturalization interview

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

marcoticci

What is the name of your state? California

I have a scheduled interview for US naturalization based on marriage to a US citizen. I have been a US resident (green card holder) since 2006.
Among the documents I have to bring to the interview is listed my "spouse's birth or naturalization certificate or certificate of citizenship". My wife was not born in the US but has US citizenship through naturalization, from many years ago. Would her passport be accepted as proof of citizenship?
Thank you!

Zigner

Senior Member, Non-Attorney
What is the name of your state? California

I have a scheduled interview for US naturalization based on marriage to a US citizen. I have been a US resident (green card holder) since 2006.
Among the documents I have to bring to the interview is listed my "spouse's birth or naturalization certificate or certificate of citizenship". My wife was not born in the US but has US citizenship through naturalization, from many years ago. Would her passport be accepted as proof of citizenship?
Thank you!
Based on my brief search of various internet sites, the passport would not suffice. If she does not have the required document, then she can request a copy. Follow up with the agency that is conducting the interview to verify this information.

EDIT: I have seen some sources that suggest that the passport might be acceptable. Again, contact the agency for clarification.

Zigner

Senior Member, Non-Attorney
From the instructions for form N-400: