• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Does husband leaving marital home affect visitation?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Ms78

What is the name of your state? MO
My husband left our marital home and moved across state, now he believes he's entitled to see our 20 month old son one week a month or even two weeks a month. Before we file for divorce, I want to know what I'm up against as far as his visitation rights and frequency. I'm new to this, so any comments or advice is welcome.

BelizeBreeze

Ms78 said:
My husband left our marital home and moved across state, now he believes he's entitled to see our 20 month old son one week a month or even two weeks a month. Before we file for divorce, I want to know what I'm up against as far as his visitation rights and frequency. I'm new to this, so any comments or advice is welcome.
He is the father, regardless of whether he lives across the state or across the country.

And yes, he has rights as well as you.

BelizeBreeze said:
He is the father, regardless of whether he lives across the state or across the country.

And yes, he has rights as well as you.