• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

emancipation at 16 years old, Louisiana

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

daisyjames09

I am 16 years old and I will be graduated this month from an online high school. I have been staying with my sister in Germany for three months but my visa will be up in January which means i have to go back to living with my mother in Louisiana.
My mother hardly was ever home because she works in Texas and she would leave me in the care of my step dad who mainly sat on the play station instead of actually taking care of me. when she was home she could be emotionally and occasionally physically abusive as would he. he has slammed my arm in a door and laughed about it and she has threatened to beat to the point she would go to jail and has left me with a black eye and other bruises in the past. My mothers house is unhealthy to live in because it is filthy with fleas to the point where i would get bit by them when ever i went to lay in my bed. she is also a hoarder. there are rooms in her house that you cant even walk through because it is so cluttered.

I was going to get emancipated since i will be graduated but now my mother said she will not sign the papers for it. What is the process to getting emancipated without your parents permission under these circumstances? and Can i live with another family member as an emancipated minor or would i need to get my own place?

adjusterjack

I was going to get emancipated
Sorry, but every teenage child wants emancipation. The chances of you getting it are slim. The conditions and abuse that you describe are things that Child Protective Services would handle.