• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Employer Kept Insurance Payments

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

mitchell1204

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Tennessee

Hi, I am a long haul truck driver. I have been paying for critical care, short and long term disability insurance through payroll deduction. Last month due to health problems the DOT medical doctor disqualified me from driving. I am at home on a medical leave of absense and still considered employed.

I filed for short term disability through the insurance provider. My claim was denied due to the policy was lapsed. After checking with the insurance company, my employer has not made a payment since November 2009.

Since the human resourse dept is just one lady, I am specualting embezzlement is going on. My 401K and health insurance has been maintained. But not many, if any file disability. It would be very easy to take that money unnoticed. I highly doubt it's been overlooked for one year. I have my paystubs showing the deductions to date. The policies are for for $1500/mo. benefit each and the cost I pay is around $100/mo.

The owner of the company is a successful business owner with multiple companies in multiple states. He is based in Minnesota. The company I work for was based out of Nebraska and Jan 2010 moved into the terminal in Illinois. Yet the Nebraska office is supposingly closed, they continue to use that address. I know they still pay Nebraska unemployment insurance because I checked that option. I think they are still in the process of slowly transferring to Illinois but have not done everything yet.

What should I do? If I need to file a lawsuit, what state?