• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Establishing Residency in New State for Temp Work Relocation

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

ajy1995

Hello, I work as a project manager in Colorado currently. My company is getting ready to send me on a 1.5 year field assignment to California for a job we’re taking on out there. I don’t have any family in Colorado, and I currently rent, I do not own a house. I will have roughly 5 months left on my lease when I go to California, so I plan to honor my lease until it is up, then not renew so I’m not paying rent in Colorado while I’m living in California. I will be getting per diem while I am in California to cover living expenses ( housing & meals ). My question is, will I become a legal resident of California even though this is a temporary move for work, albeit a lengthy one? I’m sure if I owned a place in Colorado while I was in California that I’d still be considered a Colorado resident, but since I’ll have no residence in Colorado during my time out west, will I be a California resident for tax purposes? I’ve heard that California taxes are higher, and honestly I haven’t done much research into it, but I’d obviously like to stay a Colorado resident if possible.
Also, if I posted this in the wrong forum I apologize, this is my first time using the site. Any help is appreciated!

adjusterjack