• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Facial Hair

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Status
Not open for further replies.

JohnDoeIsTaken

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? PA

I am beginning a 2nd job at McDonalds. During my orientation they informed me that I would have to shave my goatee. Is it neatly trimmed, not extending past the corners of the mouth. No mustache of course, but there is the soul path leading to it. The reason I was given was that this was mandated by State Law. However, I had previously worked at McDonalds and this was never an issue. I am also an assistant manager at another restaurant and again, this is not an issue. I have been there during a health inspection and the health inspector never said a word. I told them that I would not shave it at orientation, and tomorrow I'm going to speak with the assistant or GM to see whether or not they would be okay with that as it is supposedly against policy. I was just looking to get the facts prior to the conversation.

This wouldn't be an issue, but with a shaved head, you look very silly without it haha

davew128

Familiar with the New York Yankees? Take a look at the pictures of each and every one of their playees over the last 37 years. They have something in common.

Hint: It has everything to do with what your employer is mandating.

Betty

Your employer can disallow facial hair. You have to follow whatever
rule/regulation your employer has. The only time facial hair might have to
be allowed is if it is due to religious beliefs or due to a possible medical
condition.

JohnDoeIsTaken

§ 46.152. Hair restraints.