• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Fan-Made Sequel

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

legalguy02

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)?
California

So, a few friends of mine (I'm a college student) and I are designing our own video game. We're designing it to be nearly identical to an existing game from our childhood; specifically, we're making a fan-made sequel for it, with the same name, characters, story, etc. We eventually want to finish the game and make it available for others to download and play; however, being sensitive of trademark and copyright law, we have no intention of profiting from it in any way (even ads) and will put it online for free, and we will go out of our way to emphasize the fact the game is fan-made and unconnected to the original company.

Does this violate any copyright/trademark laws? Will the company that made the original game send us a cease and desist letter or sue us?

quincy

California

So, a few friends of mine (I'm a college student) and I are designing our own video game. We're designing it to be nearly identical to an existing game from our childhood; specifically, we're making a fan-made sequel for it, with the same name, characters, story, etc. We eventually want to finish the game and make it available for others to download and play; however, being sensitive of trademark and copyright law, we have no intention of profiting from it in any way (even ads) and will put it online for free, and we will go out of our way to emphasize the fact the game is fan-made and unconnected to the original company.