• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Filing of joint taxes

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

jhing114

What is the name of your state? Illinois

Hi... My fiance and I are planning to get married soon. He works for a place that issues them checks without taxes deducted. If we get married, can he also file for tax? joint tax? Shall I just place his name under dependents (I have another dependent, my 2-year old son.) I am not very knowledgeable about tax laws here in the US (I am a permanent resident), so can anybody advice me on the legal way to do it in case we get married and have to file taxes? Thank you for your help.

Jhing

perhapsure

Your situation is too complicated to advise here.
First, you would have to find out what he is doing about his income taxes.
Ask him for his previous income tax returns, forms 1040, from the last two years.
If he does not have that, then you can expect difficulties when you get married.
If you plan to get married, then you must consult an expert tax advisor, preferably a tax accountant. That person can advise you how to proceed.
Do not get married until the tax questions are all answered.

jhing114

Thanks for replying. He works but not full time, they're paid by personal checks from the management. He did have some W2's before when he worked full time, and I guess that was like about 3 years ago. We plan to marry this year though I wouldn't want to change my name to his family name yet. Will it be fraudulent for me to declare on my tax next year that I am still single (with a minor child as dependent) if we get to marry before the end of the year?

perhapsure