• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Fired as a warning to others

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

peterlee

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? CA

I had a long story to tell. First thank you for your patience to read.

I had been working for a company for 10 years, 7 of 10 years working under H-1 foreign worker. Now I am green card holder. Because of the foreign worker status, I had suffered greatly from discrimination, threatening, mistreatment from the owners. The company sponsored me working in the company. They knew if I could not work for them, I would be out of visa status and became illegal.

I am from China and the owner is Chinese American from Taiwan. After working there for a while, one day by the end of 1997, the president told me in front of other co-workers, “You people in China just kill time at work by drinking tea and reading paper. But you can not do like that in my company.” I felt bad by his comments. Then I said to his son that I needed a time out for a rest because of his father's words. But when I came back from lunch, he asked me to apologize to his father. I said I didn't do anything wrong, what I apologized for? Dan says, "If you don’t apologize, you can not work here anymore. I had to say “I am sorry” to his father for keeping the job.

In 1998, his son required me to stand up and looked at his father no matter what I was doing when his father came to my desk to show respect of his father. Since then I always followed the rule in the company. But he didn’t ask other co-workers do like this.