• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Fired for theft of property of company in 2017 - am I in big trouble for my paralegal license application

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Status
Not open for further replies.
What is the name of your state? New York

I'm actually from Canada, but I can't find any Canadian legal forum so unless you know how this applies to Ontario, just answer please as if this is all happening in New York.

So, as my username suggests, I'm a paralegal student. A few years ago, I got my first job. I ended up getting fired on one of my last days of working for the summer for "Stealing (/theft) [company's] property". I mistook a payment for a tip. There was a company rule that no tips were allowed. I sort of forgot about that rule, but that's not my excuse. The real thing was that I didn't know how to respond if someone offered me a tip - do I refuse it (they told me that's what you're supposed to do when I got fired). I thought why not just accept the tip.

Anyways, now I'm really worried because in the paralegal licensee application, there is a "good character" portion in which you must disclose things like criminal convictions AND BEING FIRED FROM A JOB FOR CAUSE. The Law Society then determines if a hearing is necessary to address these facts about you that put your character into question. If they decide to have a hearing into your character, they determine in the hearing if you should be allowed to become a paralegal licensee or not, based on their finding of whether you have good character or not.