• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

FMLA Wisconsin? Caring for spouse?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

dady24

What is the name of your state? Wisconsin

Hello all. My name is Denver.
My wife is about 18 wks along and has been diagnosed with Placenta previa . This is our 5th child and the doctor may be putting her on bed rest. She has had very low birth wieghts with all of our other children. We have 4 other children ranging in ages of 7yrs to 3yrs old.

I am a restaurant manager and made my schedule to help my wife when the kids come home from school. My Employer says that I can not continue with the schedule that i am working. That I'm not at the store enough.
My question is am I able to take FMLA leave to help my wife? What kind of documentation is required? She is scheduled for a c-section in Feb. 06. If I give notice soon I may be able to be off for the remainder of her pregnancy.

Any help or advice would be great.

Thanks
Denver

Beth3

You qualify for WFMLA if the following conditions apply:

1) The company employs at least 50 individuals, and
2) You have worked for the company for at least 52 consecutive weeks and have worked for the employer at least 1,000 hours during the preceeding 52-week period ("hours worked" includes all hours for which you were paid, i.e. time actually worked, paid holidays, paid vacation, etc.)