• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Getting payed when not working

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

R. K. Wells

Hello, I'm a student at a university in New Jersey. One fine day I got a payment of $150 in my account from the university payroll though I'm not working anywhere at all. I ignored it as an accident and thought it might get debited soon, but after the next 2 weeks I got the exact same pay and again after another 2 weeks. Basically I got paid $150 thrice over six weeks. I think that eventually the university payroll department will realize the error and not just stop paying me but also ask me to send back the total amount paid over the duration and I'm sure I can payback as I haven't spent a single dollar out of it.
What my concern is-
1. Can the university sue me for not reporting the error?
2. Even if the university can sue me, will they sue me upfront when they realize the error or will they try to resolve by asking me to send the amount back? (opinion)
3. Will I be able to act oblivious if the university decides to sue me? (opinion)
4. What if I have spent the money and cannot pay back?

PS: I have never worked for the university at all in past

cbg

I'm a Northern Girl
1.) Damn straight they can
2.) Probably the latter.
3.) You can try. It won't make any difference to the ultimate result
4.) It's a real shame that you'll have to get a second job, or a loan, or have future wages garnished, won't it? Don't even imagine that trying, "I don't have the money to pay it back," will get you off the hook.