• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

group health insurance

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

P

pascale

What is the name of your state? What is the name of your state? New york

I have been participating in my company's group health insurance for the last five years. They pay the "single" portion for me and they deduct pre-tax the difference for "family" coverage out of my paycheck. It's a plan where you can either see "network" doctors or "out of network" doctors. Needless to say, this coverage is very costly. I have complaining for years about the increases and was not given any other options by my employer.

This year, my employer got the "idea" of calling the insurance rep. about switching my coverage to an HMO, within the same insurance company. The rep said it's not a problem.

My questions is: Who had the reponsibility to notify me of the various options available to me? Employer or insurance company?I have been struggling to pay for insurance I did not need for 5 years. All the doctors I've ever seen were always "in network" anyway. Somoeone dropped the ball and I'm very upset.

Please help!

cbg

I'm a Northern Girl