• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Harassment

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

D.Welling

:mad: :(
California~
I live in a house on some rural land. I have been renting the house and the land around the house for almost 3 years. The yard is fenced and we had our own parking and driveway. We also have two dogs. It is posted that we have two dogs and also no trespassing is allowed.
We are a quiet middle-aged couple.
Our verbal agreement has worked out well until recently.
The landlord leased out the acreage to an organic farmer.
They wanted the house too but the landlord told them no.
So the farmer has started to put pressure on us to get out. Two of the three access gates to my house I cannot use, and he has complained about my elderly 10 year old dogs. He is afraid of them…so we posted a few more beware of dog signs and padlocked those two gates so the dogs won’t get out.
Now the guy has the audacity to take over my front parking area for employee parking.
It is the only access we have to get to our house that we are renting.
His employees lean up against my fence and leave garbage all over.
The farmer steals my well water and is using my electricity.
He also trespassed and cut my roses.
But he keeps say, “I’m well within my rights, why don’t you just move.”
I told him if he wanted us to move he should pay us to do so, because we are not moving.
Currently, I just want him to keep his people off the area we have been renting and using as parking for the almost last 3 years, and to stop harassing me.
What recourse do I have as our landlord feels he cannot do anything about it.

maryks

Can you get him for trespassing?