• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Help! I'm in trouble for exposing a scam at school!

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Robyne_K

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? TEXAS

I'm a cosmetology student, and recently my school has become involved (exactly on what level, I'm not sure) with an anti-aging health and beauty aide company that sells cosmetics, nutritional supplements, and related accessories. This is also a Multi-Level Marketing company that enlists independent distributors to market their product and image (quite like Avon).

I first heard about this company while attending my school's annual hair show, as they were one of the many vendors. Since then, some of my instructors began distributing their products, primarily a face care system and galvanic current facial machine.

One day in our weekly Theory class, my head instructor had us watch an advertisement video, then tried selling us on the products and suggested we sign up as distributors. I asked a lot of questions he had no answers to, said it sounded like a BS pyramid scheme, and made him pretty mad. I was called "negative" and "pessimistic" by my instructors. After class that evening, I went home and did some research, found out it was exactly as I suspected, and the next day privately told my instructors what I'd learned. They had no rebuttal.

I left it at that, even after witnessing more sales pitches and product demonstrations outside of the classroom, on the salon floor. I stated my opinion to fellow students who asked, but didn't try to confront or "call out" anyone. I bit my tongue and minded my business until another incident occurred in my Theory class.