• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Help with pay cut? Please!

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

V

venator64

My query is regarding job classification/salary negotiations in California.

I work for the County of San Diego as a Medical Director for more than 4 years and have had excellent performance evaluations. Although am not represented by the union (SICU) due to the fact I am a manager, I do have Civil Service Protections. When I was hired, the base salary was relatively low, but I was promised two things: that I would be paid for hours worked (and could claim overtime at straight rates) and that I would be compensated for "on-call hours" (hours I worked outside of normal working hours when I was available to answer the telephone and handle patient-related medical issues/required in the nursing facility). With these provisions, the salary was reasonable. I claimed these hours using various time sheet codes for the first four years. I have since learned that I may "never"have been eligible for overtime and call hours, and that my administrator should not have approved it, but she had, regularly, for four years. In fact, when I was hired, I was the only physician working for some weeks and if I did not do call hours, there would have been no-one else to do them.