• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

hipaa violation.

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

cetiya

Sorry if this is in the wrong place but since im worried about being fired, this made sense.

I work in a hospital and right now im in the urgent care downstairs from where i work.
I smoke weed and havent informed anyone here because if its known, ill be fired. Can an RN in urgent care tell my bosses i smoke weed or are they bound by Hipaa? Im afraid of them doing a tox screen or accessing my records. I told the doc here i do not give permission for her to try to access my old records and she said she wouldnt. Im just nervous.

commentator

Okay, so you work at a hospital in some capacity, but you are using their urgent care facility (downstairs) to be treated for something non-work related, right? And you are concerned that they will do a blood test that will show you are using marijuana during your treatment, and that they'll pass that information on to your supervisors in the area where you work, right?

You do understand that if you live in an at will state, you can be fired at will whether they have a "good reason" or not, don't you? You have neglected to tell us what U.S. state this is occurring in.

cetiya

Okay, so you work at a hospital in some capacity, but you are using their urgent care facility (downstairs) to be treated for something non-work related, right? And you are concerned that they will do a blood test that will show you are using marijuana during your treatment, and that they'll pass that information on to your supervisors in the area where you work, right?