• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Holiday Pay - Shift Discrimination or Breech of Contract?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Inforat

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Florida

I am a Florida Resident and telecommuter. My employer is out of California. We have employees throughout the US and Canada. From what I understand, they adhere to each state's specific labor laws. Up until today, benefits included 12 paid Holidays which were always paid whether we worked that Holiday or not. They announced a global policy change today stating that employees will only be paid for holidays if they are 'scheduled' to work them. So if a recognized Holiday falls on a Monday, and you are scheduled to work Monday's, you will get 8 hours holiday pay for that day plus any hours regular or overtime you work. Those that are not scheduled to work that Monday, will not be compensated. The organization is 24/7 so many employees work odd hours. I work Tues-Sat. With this knew policy, myself and many others will be losing benefits while others (those that work M-F) will keep theirs.

My Offer letter, which states: 'This letter, along with the Employment NDA and telecommuting Agreement, sets forth the terms of your employment with the Company and supercedes in prior representations or agreements, whether written or oral.'

Within this offer letter, it states: