• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

How long do I have to hold someone's things for them

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

frenchtoast

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Maine

I have a question about how long I have to hold someone's things for them in storage. The background is that I was a college student renting an apartment and I sublet one of the rooms to a friend I'll call Sally. Not all of Sally's things fit into the apartment so some of their things were kept in storage at my father's house. (My father was the co-signer for the apartment when I moved in.) Sally decided not to pay rent regularly. I managed to get them to move out of the apartment but she left their things in storage at my father's house. She put her things in our basement when she moved in and has left them there long after she moved out. I called her and initially spoke to her several times about getting her things out of our basement. She moved out in July of 2007. Two weeks ago she called my father wanting her things back.
The problem is that we had to throw her things away. We had a problem with our furnace that damaged everything in there. We had assumed that she had abandoned her things. Her things were junk like yellowed children's books, a few stuffed animals and some glassware that you wouldn't even buy at a flea market. It was worth maybe $100 if we are speaking generously in her favor.