• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

How to get disability insurance without exclusions that don't make sense?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

gmoneyjive

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Colorado

Hi,

First off, sorry if this is too long. I've been fighting this for two months and am really struggling. If you don't have much time but could skip down and answer any of the questions at the bottom off the top of your head I'd appreciate it; I don't want to make too much work for anyone.

I recently applied for disability insurance through Principal. I went through the short phone interview but was so exhausted I left a few things out. They came back and said there were some prescriptions I didn't mention, and after talking with my doc we guessed the only ones on record here in Colorado are narcotics like Percocet (taken after hernia & once in a while when I tweak my back), Xanax (had a script since '03 but hardly take it as I don't have attacks anymore), and Adderall (have mildish ADHD, but take it when I’m overbooked and have deadlines with consequences) as they are required to be reported to the Prescription Drug Monitoring Program (PDMP - later I would find out PDMP doesn’t release any info). So I gave them those and explained the situation in the best way possible (Percocet & Xanax rare, which is true, and we said Xanax was only for high pressure situations like public speaking or when I really couldn't fall asleep), and Adderall to help concentrate but not every day and I've gone months without it. They requested med records from my doc, and I told him I only wanted to release certain info, which he agreed to.