• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

I-485 questions

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

defulio

What is the name of your state? resident in GA but getting married in FL (where fiance lives, and where I will move soon after the wedding)

Hi. I have just printed off the I-485 form and have a few questions

Question # 1: about part 3, q2,

"Have you ever received public assistance in the US from any source, including the government or any state, county, city or municipality, or are you likely to receive public assistance in the future?"

Last year, when I was a student working my F1 visa maximum of 20hrs a week and paying out-of-state tuition fees, my 12yr old car failed it's emissions test and I was advised by the mechanic to apply for state funds to have the problem fixed. To my great surprise I received around $550 dollars from the Texas government to have a new catalytic converter installed. I was amazed that I was eligible as a foreigner. Two months later I sold the car for $600. Is this something I have to report? Will this reduce my chances of acceptance for change of status? Would any graduate student paying out of state fees and living off Teaching Assistant wages really turn down such an offer of financial assistance? I handed the relevant documents over to the buyer when I sold the car so no longer have a copy of them.

Question # 2:

In the "Information about you" section, am I meant to put down my current address, or an address via which documents sent sometime later this year will get to me? I will be moving from Atlanta in May and my fiance and I will be moving to a new place, as yet unidentified, sometime in August.

Question # 3: