• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

I want to start a podcast on itunes for music

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

frenchtoast

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? I am in MA.

I am a professional singer and I would like to record and post my singing voice with performances of Mozart and others with a piano accompanist. I may even want to take donations for future work through pay pal. What copyright laws do I need to be worried about. Most of the songs will be Mozart, Puccini, Wagner, Schumann, and the like but occasionally I would like to get into something like Jerome Kern and Gershwin and 20th century hymnal music. How do I search for patents. I have heard from other musicians that descendants will gladly take money for their permission whether you need their permission or not and many songs have similar names so how do I go about doing a patent search and what information do I really to look for when I find the right one?

-Thanks, Frenchtoast

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? I am in MA.