• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

incomplete state licensure applicaiton question

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

tresdo

What is the name of your state? Massachusetts

Does anyone know?

I'm a doctor and I had applied for a medical license in Massachusetts a year ago. I submitted my application and there were follow up questions the state medical board had for me. (Follow up questions about my leaving my old job.) But by the time those follow up questions happened, I had unexpected family circumstances (I miscarried in my 7th month). I never followed up on those questions because I had other things on my mind, obviously.

It took me a long time to get back on my feet. I never did end up going to MA. And I'm not planning on it now. I don't need a license in MA anymore since things have changed for me. I tried to contact the state board in MA to find out what the status of my application is, but my inquires via email and phone message do not get returned. I can't seem to get answers to simple questions.

Does anyone know?

1. Where do incomplete license applications go? Are they destroyed or filed away? And if filed away, how long?

2. What should I do know? Should I answer those follow up questions, even though I am not seeking licensure in MA? That seems like a moot point. But it doesn't sit right with me that the MA board sent me questions and all they know is that I just didn't follow up. Do I need to do anything?

I'm still frustratingly trying to get answers with the MA board but as I'm doing so, I thought to ask this question in the forum in case anyone would know. Or could direct me to someone who would know.

Great, thanks. Jackie.

ellencee