• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Independent Contractor Copyright

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Roger1889

I worked as an independent contractor for a creative agency for around a year. Over this time I asked for contracts and to be a full time employee, however this never came to be. Therefore, all that I am about to write is under the basis that I have no written obligations or contracts with the party that has sent me a cease and desist letter. Here it is...

I was considered a content creator or videographer for this company, working as an independent contractor creating video content for them and their respective clients at the time. I was paid on a recurring basis and moved to another state for this contracted gig, and had asked several times about becoming an employee. After around a year of never signing a contract when I wanted, he brought me an NDA and a non compete, which is when I finally stopped working for them. Now, some of the content I created for him while there I have on my website as part of my portfolio. They have sent me a cease and desist letter to remove all work I did that contains materials owned by the company.

"(Company Name) is the author of a copyright work which includes its logo, pictures, videos, and all materials owned by (Company Name). We have been advised of your use of its videos as if they were to be yours. Pursuant to the federal copyright act, such use is unlawful."