• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Is a receipt a legally binding document.

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Sloppyjoe68

ok so I’m in Michigan and currently renting a home from this business. I have been paying my rent on time for the last 3 months only to get notice that none of the payments were received. It turns out they changed their online payment system. However, they never took the old system down and i have been paying my rent on time using that old system. The issue here is that each payment i made the money was taken out of my account, i have receipts as well as proof of each transaction. However, my landlord is saying it is on me to repay those months and my responsibility to track down lost money. Is that legal for them to do? As far as I’m concerned the money left my account and i have receipts from them to prove it. Is there anything i can do?

Shadowbunny

Queen of the Not-Rights
ok so I’m in Michigan and currently renting a home from this business. I have been paying my rent on time for the last 3 months only to get notice that none of the payments were received. It turns out they changed their online payment system. However, they never took the old system down and i have been paying my rent on time using that old system. The issue here is that each payment i made the money was taken out of my account, i have receipts as well as proof of each transaction. However, my landlord is saying it is on me to repay those months and my responsibility to track down lost money. Is that legal for them to do? As far as I’m concerned the money left my account and i have receipts from them to prove it. Is there anything i can do?