• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Is it fair that managers at the same job as me are getting a raise when minimum wage goes up, but i do not?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

minihound

In Maine - As a manager of a store currently making 1 dollar above minimum wage in my state/city (maine) i have many lower employees making the standard 10 dollars per hour while i make 11 per hour due to being a manager and fulfilling additional duties, i have been working at this -Franchised- business for 3 years with no bonus, raise or commendation and have never had any work related problems, as the up coming minimum wage is being increased to 11 dollars an hour, my current pay rate, my store manager has told me that i will be the only one in the district not receiving a pay increase, and has not stated a reason, another equal level employee, a manager has already received a raise and has worked there for less than a year, and now receives 12 dollars per hour, i am getting rather frustrated with how as a manager i am working harder, more hours and been more devoted to this company and yet make the same amount as an employee in training, i have already received word that ALL of the surrounding same franchises, owned by the same franchisee, all received an across the board raise for ALL employees, i seem to be left out of the raise and when i confront the managers, and HR departments they both tell me its not because they don't like me, and then move on. When brought to their attention that i would like to demote from the position as i was not receiving extra pay for the extra work my job was threatened, when i asked to be transferred to another store closer to home, it was denied.