• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

is this wrong?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

H

hankinsrl

What is the name of your state?
Washington State

I have a class b driver’s license. I am a city bus driver. I used to throw freight.

I applied for a garbage job with a company that was advertising help wanted in the local newspaper. I applied for the job. I had all the qualifications for this job. Only thing is I am a woman. I don't understand why I didn't even get a chance at an interview. I have all the qualifications for this job plus they said they would like you to have a class B license. I have everything. For the first time in my life I feel discriminated against. I can deal with a lot of things but this hurts me. They could have given me a chance at an interview.

I want to go down there and ask them why they didn't give me an interview. Should I down that? What should I do?
:confused:

L

loku

It is impossible to say without knowing all the facts on their side, but from what you say there is a good chance that you have a valid claim against them for discrimination. You can either discuss this with an employment law attorney or file a claim with the Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC). The material below is from the EEOC: