• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Is using Graceland as a book's title a tm violation?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

EricPalicki

What is the name of your state? Ohio.

I am a writer currently producing a comic book series which features an Elvis Impersonator (he clearly resembles Elvis, although that name is never explicitly stated in the work.) The book is a work of fiction, clearly. I have recently found a publisher for the work, contingent upon the title not being a violation of US trademark laws.

The working title for the project is GRACELAND, and although Elvis's mansion is never seen or mentioned explicitly in the body of the work, I worry that keeping the title may constitute a violation of copyright and/or Trademark law.

Can anyone help me with this?

Thanks.

Eric Palicki

divgradcurl

EricPalicki said:
What is the name of your state? Ohio.

I am a writer currently producing a comic book series which features an Elvis Impersonator (he clearly resembles Elvis, although that name is never explicitly stated in the work.) The book is a work of fiction, clearly. I have recently found a publisher for the work, contingent upon the title not being a violation of US trademark laws.

The working title for the project is GRACELAND, and although Elvis's mansion is never seen or mentioned explicitly in the body of the work, I worry that keeping the title may constitute a violation of copyright and/or Trademark law.

Can anyone help me with this?

Thanks.

Eric Palicki

Well, for one thing, it won't be a copyright issue, because you can't copyright a name or a title -- so, by definition, the term "Graceland" is not copyrightable subject matter.