• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

landlords abusing tenants: when repairs were not done properly

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

A

anakingus

Hello,

I am a resident in Sunnyvale, CA. I rent a studio at $ 1475, an outrageous but justfiable price in this area...

Recently, I have had a maltreatment with my apartment management and like to know if there is anything that I could do.

In early December, I was charged for the late apartment charge in a ridiculous way. I was one or two days late (even it is not clear as my check says Dec 2nd.) and the apartment dropped me a less than 24 hour notice on Sunday afternoon saying that I should pay for $ 50 late fee by Monday.

This event ignited my unpleasant experience with this apartment management for the last several months. I have had no working light at my kitchen for one month, giving me incredible incovenience. Worse, my door would open, even after you lock the doorknob. These two defects obviously could not have been a pleasant experience to me. One day, I left a post-it on one of the workers' tables in the management lobby, requesting for repair but it was not done for over one month. But because they are so interested in receiving $ 50 dollar late fee, they would give me less than 24 hour notice to pay the late fee. Therefore, I wrote a letter complaining about the unreasonably short notice and the repair not being done.