• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Leaving the country with my children

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

H

Heather Battle

What is the name of your state? michigan

i am currently married, but seperated, is it legal to leave the country with my children after a devorce has been finalized?

usmcfamily

That depends ENTIRELY on the type of custody that is ordered when the divorse is finalized...there is no way to predict that so I don't think an answer can be given to you at this point.....

D

DesperateMom21

I'm not a lawyer,but from the reading I have done,I would think that it would be unless you have sole custody of your children or the other parent agrees.Has custody been determined?

H

Heather Battle

you are for sure not being biased....I am soley for the children myself. my lawyer is asking the judge for the devorce based on mental and physical abuse, with me having sole custody and the father having supervised visits only...my wishes to go to germany are to be with family and friends and start my life with my children anew only!!!

H

Heather Battle

DesperateMom21 said:
I'm not a lawyer,but from the reading I have done,I would think that it would be unless you have sole custody of your children or the other parent agrees.Has custody been determined?
not as of yet..my lawyer will petiton the juge for myself having full custody, and their father having supervised visits only.

D

DesperateMom21