• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Liability

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

L

ljtb21

I have a question about a lease that I am currently in. I am a college student who is leasing with 3 psychotic girls. They have gone out of their way to make my life a living hell. When we signed our lease the lease said we had to set up our utilities ourselves so utilities are not included in our monthly rent of $220. My question is if I move out would I be liable for any utilities if I am not using them? I know I have to pay rent monthly. But do I have to pay for electric(which includes heat because we have electric heat), water, phone bill, or cable bill? Could you please give me some advice as to what I am liable for through the end of the lease which is up September of 2001?

thank you so much

A

AndreaW

Abstract Advice

Check with your school and see if they contract an attorney to offer free legal advice. I know that all of the university campuses in Califronia do so. You could also go to your library and look for a book on "tenants rights" in your state. Also, it might make a difference as to whose name is actually on the (electricty, gas, etc.) bill. Good Luck!

L

ljtb21

Thanks

Thank you AndreaW for that intelligent reply. I appreciate your help. It's good to know that there are some people out there that are willing to help others out in a non- sarcastic manner. You should be a lawyer you give better advice then who ever is running this show. It is pathetic to see the advice they have given me. I guess that tells you the intelligence level of lawyers these days. Just about anyone could do their job. Thanks again for the advice!! It is appreciated.

L

LL