• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Liable for rent after lease period?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

C

ConfusedInVirginia

Guest
I have a 3-month lease in Virginia. I thought my lease expired at the end of the lease period. Apparently, I was supposed to give 60-days notice that I intended to leave at the end of my lease period. What is the point of the lease period if I am still liable until I give 60 days notice? What legal recourse does the landlord have since I did not give 60 days notice? Is there anything I can do to diffuse the situation?

Confused In Virginia
 


Cvillecpm

Senior Member
60 days notice is standard in Old Dominion.....

You should have given notice at the time you were presented the lease, saw the wording and realized that in 30 days you needed to tell them you were leaving. Otherwise, move out as scheduled, ask for walk-through per VRLTA, provide your forwarding address and if they don't send deposit within 30 days, write them for it and then sue in Small Claims Court. Let a Small Claims Court judge sort it out. They have to come after you for the 2 months rent and since we are now in the "high season" of renting, they should re-rent asap anyway. Good luck.
 

Find the Right Lawyer for Your Legal Issue!

Fast, Free, and Confidential
data-ad-format="auto">
Top