• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

License & liability

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

What is the name of your state? Illinois

I hold a professional license for an allied health care field. I have a defined scope of practice and I work under the supervision of a MD. Recently I had to work as a supervisor (cover during an emergency) in an area of the hospital that I have very little experience with. I was acting as departmental supervisor - a regular feature of my job

This has happened three or four times in the past year due to a staffing issues. I was very uncomfortable about the work, and know almost nothing about the types of patients that were under my care. I informed my supervisor in writing of my concerns and asked if they would please train me for the areas I was expected to work in. He refused saying that I should "do my best" and that he would be responsible due to his position as manager. I asked him what the ramifications were for my license and again he stated that there were none, he was responsible. I did not lose my temper and we parted on friendly terms, but I am troubled by his response.

Why must I be licensed if my employer says he is responsible? We have the same credential and I was acting as his proxy.​
What is the limit of my liability due to error on my part?​
Should I be trained to work in all areas that I am responsible for?​
Thank you​

eerelations