• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Loitering

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Grugore

OK. I'm homeless and I've been using an electrical outlet, outside the Walmart to charge my smartphone. I've been doing it for several months now and haven't had any problems from law enforcement...until now. A police cruiser pulled up and told me I had to leave because there was a no loitering sign. I've checked the local laws about this concerning what loitering is and isn't (I'm in Huntsville, AL, btw) and it does mention loitering signs. My question is can the police just come by and tell me to leave, or do they require a complaint from the property owners first? As I've mentioned, I have never had and complaints by owners or police officers until now.

Just Blue

OK. I'm homeless and I've been using an electrical outlet, outside the Walmart to charge my smartphone. I've been doing it for several months now and haven't had any problems from law enforcement...until now. A police cruiser pulled up and told me I had to leave because there was a no loitering sign. I've checked the local laws about this concerning what loitering is and isn't (I'm in Huntsville, AL, btw) and it does mention loitering signs. My question is can the police just come by and tell me to leave, or do they require a complaint from the property owners first? As I've mentioned, I have never had and complaints by owners or police officers until now.
Go to the library to charge your phone.

xylene

You were under the radar there for a little while and then the police noticed you.

Police are trained to notice things, like who someone is, and when they see them in the same place.