• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Ltd Benefits Terminated

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

cozyheart

What is the name of your state? New York, NY

I have been receiving LTD benefits since April 1998. The insurance carrier provided legal assistance in helping to file for Social Security, which was approved. The insurance carrier has now deemed that I am no longer disabled under the plans definition. They have done this several times before, whereupon appealing, I was reinstated. I believe I now need legal advice. However, my income is severely limited. Are there any organizations or advocates who do pro-bono work, offer discounted rates or nominal payment plan?

C

CIAA

Cozyheart, is this an individual policy or employer group regulated by ERISA? This is going to make a big difference.

cozyheart

LTD Benefits Terminated

It is a group policy provided by my employer, no contributions to the policy were made by me.

C

CIAA

Well then, I'm assuming that your plan falls under Erisa and therefore the State Board of Insurance won't have enforcement authority, the Dept. of Labor does and you should file a complaint with them. While recent amendments allow certain individuals to file suit at any time, it is for disability claims filed after 1/1/2002 and I have not seen any interpretation on whether a "continuing claim" after 1/1/2002 can qualify. Therefore you are probably going to have to go thru the appeals process. The good thing is you have been successful at the appeals process before. Needless to say, a lot is going to depend upon whether or not your condition has improved, what your doctor says and what their doctor is saying.

cozyheart