• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Mandatory purchase of LTD insurance

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

johndoe23

What is the name of your state? CA
-
I've been with my company just over 3 years. The company resells I.T. hardware and services. I'm a manager of a team of engineers.
-
We just went through our annual 'open enrollment' period for benefits. While reviewing my selections I noticed an area that read "NOTE: The plan(s) listed below represent current coverage that will continue through the upcoming plan year."
-
Below the note listed the typical company sponsored insurance additions: Basic Life/AD&D Insurance Plan, Short Term Disability Plan and Long Term Disability. The first two were paid 100% by the company however the Long Term Disability had an amount under the employee contribution section. I decided to contact the provider and ask why I was being forced to pay this.
-
The provider replied back and stated "The LTD is a mandatory plan. If you have any questions, please see your HR representative." MANDATORY? I then contacted my HR benefits coordinator and was told LTD coverage is mandatory by all associates regardless of if they purchased medical coverage or waived it entirely and that the associate was required to pay 50% of the premium.
-
:mad:My question is: Is it legal for a company to make Long Term Disability coverage mandatory then require the employee to pay 50% of the premium?
-
What is the name of your state? CA

Last edited:

xylene

Mandatory employee contributions to long term disability plan are legal.

Employers can mandate various coverages. Even health.

Why? A rationale: