• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Medical Expenses

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

K

katell

forgive me I'm still learning this posting system.
My question is: My ex decided at our last court date to slam me with medical bills starting from back in 1998 up til present.
Our last court date was june of 2002. Isn't there some kinda of limitation he has to submit bills to me? Or am I still responsible for them even though he's held them all back for a few years?

E

Esimon1

In most cases, the bill should have been submitted to the other party within the 30 days due period. You should have gotten copies of those bills BEFORE they were due, not years later.
The judge will probably tell him that since he didn't furnish them before the billing due date, that he forfeits, and is responsible for the entire payments on all bills. You may want to consult an attorney just to be sure, but I'm pretty certain, otherwise, he can save up medical bills for 10 years and then just slam you with them? Don't think so.

tater_tot

medical expenses ? here too