• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Meidical Records

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

M

MRI Girl

I had an MRI performed on my shoulder 2 yrs
ago. I am moving out of the state (TX) and want to take the MRI film with me. When I contacted the lab which performed the MRI they told me THEY own the film and I would have to pay for copies of the MRI. Aren't my medical records mine? Should I have to pay for any of my records? Does a doctor/lab have the right to keep/charge for copies?
Thank you!

L

lawrat

I am a law school graduate. What I offer is mere information, not to be construed as forming an attorney client relationship.

Well, I am not sure how this works: but here is my take on the situation.

1) You are entitled to your medical records, but for efficiency, record keeping and medical malpractice reasons, the original MRI must be kept with the office that originally performed it.

2) As to your copy, I usually go to a new doctor if I move and they request (you can have them request it) the medical records transferred to their office for efficiency, recordkeeping, medical malpractice and appropriate diagnosis reasons. I am not sure if such new doctor gets a copy or the actual original.

3) So, I think your best bet is to go to a new doctor. If you want the American Medical Association take on it, contact the AMA. They should know THE rule or custom.

Hope this helps.

P

prairielaw3

Inot unusual at all for linics etc to charge for copies of records, and they are required to keep the originals with them; a patient has a clear right to their records, but that not mean a clinic not also a right a charge a reasonable fee for the costs etc of providing the copies.