• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Mineral Rights Checks

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Joe V.

Hoping to get a general consensus of this problem that has befallen my fiance and I. To put it simply because I have no experience in this matter, we bought our house in 2015, our real estate agent told us that the seller retained the mineral rights on the land which was fine with us, but about a year ago, a guy from the wellpad company came to our house and wanted us to sign forms to start receiving checks from them. We told them we don't own the mineral rights, so we didn't sign anything but then we started receiving forms in the mail from them wanting us to sign and then we started receiving papers that listed all of the people in our neighborhood who do own their mineral rights and are receiving checks from them( and we aren't even on the list they sent! It has the seller's name on it. ) so we haven't signed anything. Also we have received a few checks in both our names but have not cashed them. I asked my neighbor's opinion and he didn't think we owned the rights either. My fiance is afraid that since we were sent those few checks that we will be sent a tax statement and will have to address this at tax time whether we cash the checks or not. We got a tax bill in the seller's name for the mineral rights and my fiance called the tax office about it and they said they didn't have his new address but how is that our problem? My concern is that the minute we sign or cash those checks , which I refuse to do, we will become criminals because we don't own the rights. For one thing, we don't pay a yearly tax on any mineral rights and our real estate agent never required us