• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Minor in possession / License suspension

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

mrorange

Junior Member
I was charged with a "Minor in Possesion" in South Carolina during college Beach Week. Any underage alcohol charge in SC is automatic 3 month license suspension (seems like they are overstepping their bounds a little there.. I didn't even have a car in the state).

Although my license is suspended in South Carolina for 3 months, I live in Virginia and have a Virginia driver's license. I have been checking the Virginia DMV website and my license has not been suspended in Virginia--in fact, I have a clean driving record, no tickets of any kind for 3 years.

I will assume that I should err on the side of caution and not drive in Virginia, although I am licensed. I am just wondering what the protocol for this is. If I drove in VA and was stopped for say, speeding, what would happen? I understand driving without a license is a very serious thing..
 



Find the Right Lawyer for Your Legal Issue!

Fast, Free, and Confidential
data-ad-format="auto">
Top