• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Missed Jury duty 4 times in NYC now have to see the judge.

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Nyc

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? New york. I'm a full time student in my final year of school and I missed jury duty 4 times since 2010. I received a letter in the mail saying I have to go before the supreme court justice of new york now. Do I need to get a lawyer? Am I going to wind up in jail over this? Letter says failure to respond to summons for petit jury service on the following dates. lists the 4 dates. Then it says be advised a hearing for supreme court justice has been scheduled for this date. And goes on to say if I miss this date I could be fined for $250 and for another $1000 and or 30 days in jail. Any advice for when I see the judge?

Ohiogal

Queen Bee
What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? New york. I'm a full time student in my final year of school and I missed jury duty 4 times since 2010. I received a letter in the mail saying I have to go before the supreme court justice of new york now. Do I need to get a lawyer? Am I going to wind up in jail over this? Letter says failure to respond to summons for petit jury service on the following dates. lists the 4 dates. Then it says be advised a hearing for supreme court justice has been scheduled for this date. And goes on to say if I miss this date I could be fined for $250 and for another $1000 and or 30 days in jail. Any advice for when I see the judge?